In the Lutheran Church, the Church Council is the group of lay members elected by their fellow parishioners to serve with the Pastor as the leadership and governing body of the Church. Through monthly and other special meetings, the Pastor and Church Council are responsible to set and oversee the vision of ministry for the Church, and to conduct the business of the Church as required by Canon or civil law. All committees, commissions, or other church groups and their ministries come under the oversight of the Church Council.
Church Council members are expected to….

  • Attend regularly scheduled meetings of the Church Council (the 3rd Wednesday of every month)
  • Pray daily for the church and its ministry
  • Support and encourage the Pastor and Staff
  • Maintain responsible communication (which excludes gossip or hearsay) with the congregation
  • Participate in special events and gatherings of the parish as best as possible
  • Serve on one of the committees of the Church Council
  • Be a pledging member of the parish
  • As much as possible, be a visible participant in regular worship of the parish

2018 Church Council


President, Jean Rivas

Vice President, Susan Crocker
Chair, Worship & Music

Secretary, Barbara Williams
Chair, Rules & Procedures

Financial Secretary, Mary Lou Waitschies
Chair, Outreach

Treasurer, Marc Williams
Chair, Parsonage


Executive Committee

Members: President, Vice President, Secretary, Pastor


Chair: Mary Lou Waitschies
Frank Campailla, Robbin Mosier, Molly Phillips and Kay Winnett
Laura Bowers, Joyce Pinckney and Tom Pinckney

Parish Life

Co-Chair: Cynthia Mays (Seasonal meals and regular events)
Co-Chair: Kay Winnett (Tea Rooms and Bereavement Meals)

Kirsten Hughes, LoAnn Spann and Barbara Williams


Chair: Marc Williams
Susan Crocker, Paul Geiss, Chuck Long, Lloyd Waitschies


Co-Chair: Chuck Long
Co-Chair: Andy Hogue

Jeff Boss, Barbara Pace‚Äč and Lloyd Waitschies

Rules & Procedures

Chair: Barbara Williams


Chair: Kay Winnett
Kathy Allison, Mary Lou Waitschies and Marc Williams

Worship and Music

Chair: Susan Crocker
Frank Campailla, Bob Mays, and Barbara Pace; Advisory Member: George Hiatt
Altar Guild, Wedding Guild, and Church Decorations

Chair: Robbin Mosier
Flower Guild
Chair: G
erry Naumann